Spacer Clackamas Fire District #1  

Clackamas Fire

General Info

The Board of Directors for Clackamas Fire District #1 consists of five residents or property owners who are elected by the public. They serve four-year, staggered terms. The Board of Directors establishes fire district policy through the passage of resolutions and ordinances. The Board of Directors also adopts the district budget, approves appropriations and levies taxes.

When are the Meetings?

Board meetings are held on the third Monday of each month at the Mt. Scott Fire Station located at 9339 SE Causey Road in Portland. The meetings begin at 6:30 p.m. The public is invited to attend and time is scheduled for public comment.

The Board of Directors has various committees that meet periodically throughout the year. Meetings are scheduled as the need arises to discuss issues for each committee.

Who are the Members?

Jim Syring Director 06/30/2019
Don Trotter Director 06/30/2017
John Blanton President 06/30/2017
Thomas Joseph Vice President 06/30/2019
Marilyn Wall Secretary/Treasurer 06/30/2019

Jim Syring
Director Jim Syring has lived in the North Clackamas community for over 53 years. He recently retired as the Deputy Chief for Clackamas Fire District #1 after serving the community and the fire service for 30 years.  Director Syring is involved in a number of community and professional organizations and has a Bachelor’s Degree in Fire Administration in addition to being a graduate of the National Fire Academy Executive Fire Officer Program.  He and his family reside in Damascus.

Director Jim Syring
Don Trotter
Director Don Trotter is a retired architect who has lived in Clackamas County since 1968 and in Milwaukie since 1980. He has been on the Board since 2007 when he was appointed to fill a vacancy. He serves on the Clackamas Emergency Services Foundation Board of Trustees and is a past president of the Oregon Fire District Directors Association. Director Trotter is also involved in other community activities.
Director Don Trotter
John Blanton
President John Blanton has lived and been active in the North Clackamas community for over 20 years. He worked for Clackamas Community College and the State of Oregon in Workforce Development and was the former business owner of Quiktime Signs in Milwaukie. Director Blanton has also served as a board member and been involved in a number of community and professional organizations including the Clackamas Emergency Services Foundation, the North Clackamas County Chamber of Commerce, and Sunnyside Community Church. He and his wife Jody are retired.
Director John Blanton
Thomas Joseph
Vice President Thomas Joseph was born in India and attended K.E. College Mannanam, Kerala, India. After college, he served for 12 years with distinction in the Indian Air Force. In May 1978, he moved with his family to Portland, Oregon. In 1983, he founded Thomas Joseph Inc., DBA Thomas Joseph Personalized Dry Cleaning, which today has three locations. Director Joseph is active in the community with organizations such as the Clackamas Rotary, North Clackamas County Chamber of Commerce, and the Providence Milwaukie Hospital Foundation.
Director Thomas Joseph
Marilyn Wall
Director Marilyn Wall was born and raised in Nebraska. She received her undergraduate degree from the University of Portland and her law degree from the University of Oregon. In 1977, she married Mitch Wall. They currently have two dependent cats. She practices business law with Mitch and his brother, Brad. They recently relocated their offices from Portland to the Gramark Business Park in Milwaukie. Over the years, Director Wall has served on a number of community boards and commissions. She has been on the Board since 1999 when she was appointed to fill a vacancy.
Director Marilyn Wall
March 20, 2017

February 27, 2017

February 27, 2017 - Work Session

January 23, 2017

January 23, 2017 - Work Session

March 20, 2017

February 27, 2017

January 23, 2017

December 19 2016 - Work Session

December 19 2016

November 21 2016

For copies of older documents, click HERE

To view (.pdf) files you need Adobe Reader

Corner Spacer Corner